Current Students

Lab address Lab phone Advisor Research project title
Ameka, Magdalene
magdalene-ameka@uiowa.edu
2-200 BSB 319-335-7660 Potthoff, Matthew, Ph.D.
Blokhin, Ilya
ilya-blokhin@uiowa.edu
3160 ML 319-335-8857 Lentz, Steven, M.D./Ph.D.

Mechanisms of thrombosis in obesity

Bon Durant, Lucas
Bright, Franklin
franklin-bright@uiowa.edu
5241 MERF 319-335-8466 McNamara, James, Ph.D.
Chivero, Ernest
ernest-chivero@uiowa.edu
Bldg. 40, Room 104 319-338-0581 Stapleton, Jack, M.D.

Interactions of GB virus C with host cells: insights into the protective effect against HIV infection

Clay, Gwendolyn
gwendolyn-clay@uiowa.edu
400 EMRB 319-335-6807 Wilson, Mary, M.D.

Investigating the role of NLR proteins in Leishmania Infections

Duncan, Kaylia
kaylia-duncan@uiowa.edu
1-400 BSB 319-335-7725 Cornell, Robert, Ph.D.
Duong, Khanh
khanh-duong@uiowa.edu
3256 CBRB 319-384-4608 Levasseur, Dana, Ph.D

Re-directing differentiated cells toward Hematopoietic Cell Fate

Elliott, Eric
eric-elliott@uiowa.edu
D115 MTF 319-335-4323 Sutterwala, Fayyaz, M.D./Ph.D.

Characterizing the cellular response to agonists of the Nlrp3 inflammasome and determining the mechanisms of activation

Franqui Machin, Reinaldo
reinaldo-franquimachin@uiowa.edu
3257 MERF 319-384-1339 Zhan, Fenghuang, M.D./Ph.D.

Elucidating the molecular mechanisms that lead to drug resistance in multiple myeloma

Glenn, Steve
steve-glenn@uiowa.edu
3159 MERF 319-335-7967 Geyer, Pamela, Ph.D.
Gomez, Javier
javier-gomez@uiowa.edu
1-500 BSB 319-335-7735 Rutkowski, Thomas, Ph.D.

Elucidating the mechanisms by which the UPR tailors specific responses to ER stress.

Groen, Christopher
christopher-groen@uiowa.edu
1-500 BSB 319-335-7713 Tootle, Tina, Ph.D.

Investigating the regulation of actin dynamics by prostaglandin signaling.

Gu, Sean
xiang-gu@uiowa.edu
3160 ML 319-335-8857 Lentz, Steven, M.D./Ph.D.

Role of methionine oxidation in atherothrombosis

Hallberg, Andrea
andrea-hallberg@uiowa.edu
1-400 BSB 319-335-7725 Cornell, Robert, Ph.D.
Hayes, Michael
michael-hayes@uiowa.edu
4-711A BSB 319-335-7918 Weeks, Daniel, Ph.D.

Understanding the Dynamic Regulation of the Cardiogenic Transcription Factor Nkx2-5 in Xenopus laevis

Heidema, Christy
Hsu, Ying
ying-hsu@uiowa.edu
4171 MERF 319-335-7311 Sheffield, Val, M.D./Ph.D.
Inamdar, Shivangi
shivangi-inamdar@uiowa.edu
1-400 BSB 319-335-7741 Choudhury, Amit, Ph.D.

Role of syntaxin6 in Integrin signaling.

Kelpsch, Daniel
daniel-kelpsch@uiowa.edu
1-500 BSB 319-335-7735 Tootle, Tina, Ph.D.

Defining molecular mechanisms of prostaglandins during tumorigenesis

Kenkel, Elizabeth
elizabeth-kenkel@uiowa.edu
5241 MERF 319-335-8466 McNamara, James, Ph.D.
Kim, Yohan
yohan-kim@uiowa.edu
B191 ML 319-335-8656 Lee, Gloria, Ph.D.

Identification of functions for abnormally phosphorylated Tau

Kusner, David
david-m-kusner@uiowa.edu
1035 ML 319-335-6832 Zhang, Weizhou, Ph.D.

ROR1 in basal type breast cancer

Lam, Koon Yee
koonyee-lam@uiowa.edu
214 BBE 319-335-2072 Phillips, Bryan, Ph.D.

Structure-function of SYS-1/β-catenin in Caenorhabditis elegans Wnt-directed asymmetric cell division

Mahauad Fernandez, Wadie
wadiedaniel-mahauadfernandez@uiowa.edu
3-615A BSB 319-335-7612 Okeoma, Chioma, Ph.D.

Involvement of the antiviral host factors APOBEC3 and BST-2/Tetherin in tumorigenesis

Mason, Bianca
bianca-mason@uiowa.edu
5-531 BSB 319-335-7873 Russo, Andrew, Ph.D.
Nguyen, Emily
emily-nguyen@uiowa.edu
2278 CBRB 319-384-4689 Grumbach, Isabella, M.D./Ph.D.

Mitochondrial CaMKII in Vascular Smooth Muscle Cells

Nilson, Kyle
kyle-nilson@uiowa.edu
3120 MERF 319-335-6742 Price, David, Ph.D.

Understanding transcriptional regulation of HIV-1 latent infection

Perschbacher, Katherine
Ranum, Paul
paul-ranum@uiowa.edu
5270 CBRB 319-335-6623 Smith, Richard, M.D.

Identification and characterization of genetic elements contributing to non-syndromic hearing loss

Schibler, Jeanine
jeanine-schibler@uiowa.edu
4234 MERF 319-335-8864 Goel, Apollina, Ph.D.

Characterization of myeloma cancer stem cells

Songstad, Allison
allison-songstad@uiowa.edu
4111 MERF 319-335-7242 Tucker, Budd, Ph.D.

Using patient-specific stem cells to develop treatments for macular disease

Spracklen, Andrew
andrew-spracklen@uiowa.edu
1-500 BSB 319-335-7713 Tootle, Tina, Ph.D.

Dissecting the mechanisms by which prostaglandins regulate actin dynamics

Steines, Benjamin
benjamin-steines@uiowa.edu
440 EMRB 319-335-8457 Zabner, Joseph, M.D.
Sturgeon, Morgan
Sun, Xiaowen
xiaowen-sun@uiowa.edu
4-411A BSB 319-335-7662 DeMali, Kris, Ph.D.

Integrin signaling and melanoma

Tyler, Scott
scott-tyler@uiowa.edu
1-111 BSB 319-335-9613 Engelhardt, John, Ph.D.

Taking an integrated wet-bench and bioinformatic approach to better understand the basic biology of cystic fibrosis

Ulland, Tyler
tyler-ulland@uiowa.edu
D115 MTF 319-335-4323 Sutterwala, Fayyaz, M.D./Ph.D.

Innate immune response to the Gram-negative bacteria Francisella tularensis

Woll, Addison
Workman, Lauren
lauren-workman@uiowa.edu
1194 ML 319-335-8168 Habelhah, Hasem, Ph.D.

The role of TRAF2 phosphorylation in CD40-induced JNK and NF-kB activation

Wu, Bokuan
bo-kuan-wu@uiowa.edu
4-339 BSB 319-384-4099 Brenner, Charles, Ph.D.

Development of a Cellular Model of Dnmt1 Activation in Carcinogenesis

Zheng, Chaoqun
chaoqun-zheng@uiowa.edu
5219 MERF 319-335-8272 Hohl, Raymond, M.D./Ph.D.

The molecular mechanisms of anti-cancer activity for schweinfurthins